Oakland University’s R&S Sharf Course Hosting 69th Atlas Trophy Matches

  ROCHESTER – Oakland University Golf and
Learning Center’s tournament-tested R&S Sharf Course will host top golfers
and teams from the Golf Association of Michigan (GAM) and Michigan Publinx Golf
Association (MPGA) in the 69th Atlas Trophy Matches Saturday and Sunday.

  The two 12-man teams will square off in the
historic series in four-ball, foursomes and individual matches to determine the
winner of the Atlas Trophy.

   Oakland University’s Sharf was designed by renowned
golf instructor Rick Smith, and is a sprawling modern course with large greens
on a dramatic piece of rolling, wooded property. Oakland University is home to
its two world-class golf courses and an expansive Golf and Learning Center that
features a Rick Smith Academy.

  Several professional and amateur tournaments
have been hosted by Oakland University, including GAM qualifiers and
championships, USGA qualifiers, high school championships and in recent years
the Michigan PGA Professional Championship.

  The Sharf has six tee positions ranging from
7,103 yards to 5,155 yards and offers a variety of holes across property that
is parts open meadow, wooded and featuring water hazards.

  Manager Bill Rogers, a PGA professional,
heads the staff at Oakland U., which includes PGA professional Perry Busse and
Superintendent Tom Schall. For more information on the facilities, visit .

   The MPGA Team topped the GAM Team 13 ½ – 10 ½
in the 68th Atlas Trophy Matches at TPC Michigan in Dearborn in 2015. It was
the first win for the MPGA team since 2008, and it was powered by a 7 ½ – 4 ½
showing on the final day after Saturday foursomes and four-ball play left the
matches tied at 6-6.

  The GAM holds a 45-20-3
lead all-time in the series of matches that originated in 1938 as a competition
between private club golfers represented by the GAM and public course golfers
represented by the MPGA with the trophy honoring Edward Atlas, who then was a
GAM Governor as well as a USGA Public Links Committee member and Detroit area
public golf official.

  Prior to 2010, the
competition was conducted annually except for World War II years, and historically,
private club players competed against public course players. Beginning in 2011,
however, it became a biennial competition between GAM member golfers regardless
of their course or club affiliation and members of the MPGA.

   The GAM and MPGA
each select a captain, who then selects 12 team members by using GAM Honor Roll
points, MPGA Honor Roll points and other criteria. The golf is complimentary
for the players with the event designed to honor those chosen for the teams,
and to promote sportsmanship.

  The GAM is
represented this year by Pete Farner, Cameron Carroll, Andrew Sarokin, Brett Hudson,
Jimmy Chestnut, Ryan Johnson, Tim Pearce, Steve McKalko, Andrew Tindall, Mike Ignasiak,
Jacob Kieronski and Zach Bialik.

  The MPGA is
represented this year by Brad Bastion, Razmig Boghikian, Leo Daigle, David Hall,
Scott Jaschuk, Kevin Klemet, Jason May, John Quigley, Austin Kreger, Andrew Smith,
Anthony Sorentino and Larry Sterling Jr.

  Foursomes matches will be played Saturday
morning with four-ball matches to follow in the afternoon. Individual matches
are played on Sunday. One point is awarded per match with ½ point being given
to each team for a halved match.  If tied
at the end of the competition, the team currently holding the trophy retains

-Greg Johnson