Historic Indianwood Golf & Country Club Hosting 2017 GAM Tournament of Champions

Indianwood Golf & Country Club has hosted many of golf’s greatest champions,
and the champions of Golf Association of Michigan member clubs are next.

  The historic private
facility with its classic “Old” course will host the 2017 GAM Tournament of
Champions on Tuesday.

  A field of men and
women golfers who won their club championships or a GAM gross stroke play championship
this year are eligible to play in the 18-hole stroke play final celebration of
the season tournament. Some of the top players in the state will be involved.

  Indianwood dates to
the 1920s and the “Old” course, designed by legend Wilfred Reid in 1925, is
annually ranked in top 100 lists of the best courses in America. It will serve
as host Tuesday.

  The “New” course was added in 1998 by owner
Stan Aldridge, who revitalized the faded facility upon purchase in 1981. Robert
Cupp and Jerry Pate did that design work.

  Indianwood has a
proud tournament history having hosted four major championships on the “Old”
course — the 1930 Western Open won by Gene Sarazen, the 1989 Women’s U.S. Open
won by Betsy King, the 1994 Women’s U.S. Open won by Patty Sheehan and 2012 U.S.
Senior Open won by Roger Chapman. The classic course has hosted several GAM
tournaments in recent years, as well as Michigan PGA Section tournaments.

  The defending men’s
champion, Evan Bowser of Dearborn, has turned professional and is not in the
field. The defending women’s champion, Cortney Reno of Grosse Ile, is also not