Gull Lake View’s Stonehedge Hosting 20th GAM Women’s Mid-Amateur Championship

  AUGUSTA, Mich. – The
Stonehedge North and South golf courses at Gull Lake View Golf Club &
Resort near Kalamazoo are hosting Michigan’s top women golfers over age 25 in
the 20th GAM Women’s Mid-Amateur Championship presented by the West Michigan
Golf Show today and Monday.

  The Stonehedge
courses are two of four in the collection of six at the popular resort that the
talented Scott family designed.

  The North course,
hosting Sunday’s first round, was founded in 1995 and designed by Charles Scott
and Jon Scott, son and grandson of founding Darl and Letha Scott, who started
the resort in 1963 with the design and construction of what is now called the
West course at the resort.

  The South course,
hosting Monday’s second and final round, was founded in 1988 and Charles Scott
did the design.

  Both courses are
rolling, traditional style courses that cut through the hilly and diverse land
in the Southwest region of the state. Both have multiple yardage options and
tee options which serves the Mid-Amateur Championship well. Beyond the group
playing for the championship is a senior championship flight and two other
flights based on handicap.

   Steve Holladay is the superintendent on the
two Stonehedge courses for the resort, and Ryan Gumpper the golf professional.

was 18 holes in 1963 has expanded to 108 holes of golf over five decades, and
along the way the addition of the popular villas and restaurants as well as other
real-estate development turned the Scott family into resort owners.

   As for the
competition, nine-time champion and defending champion Stacy Slobodnik-Stoll
heads the championship field. The head women’s golf coach at Michigan State
University and Michigan Golf Hall of Fame member won the title six consecutive
times between 2005 and 2010, and also won in 2012 and ’15 prior to last year’s
win at Forest Lake Country Club in Bloomfield Hills.

  Julie Massa, who won
her second Mid-Amateur title in 3013, and Joan Garety, the 2004 champion, are
also in the field.

-Greg Johnson [email protected]