Evans Scholars 2009 National Awards

GOLF, IL ? A Michigan State Evans Scholar and an Indiana Evans Scholar were selected as recipients of the two top honors in the Evans Scholars Program in 2009. The University of Minnesota Evans Scholars led all chapters in academic achievement.

Evans Scholars are golf caddies who have earned full four-year scholarships to college based on four criteria: a strong caddie record, excellent academics, financial need and outstanding character. Most students attend one of the 14 universities across the nation where the Evans Scholars Foundation owns and operates a Scholarship House.

The Evans Scholars Program has been administered by the Western Golf Association in Golf, Illinois, since its inception in 1930. It is among the nation?s largest privately funded scholarship programs. Currently, 865 caddies are enrolled in college as Evans Scholars, and more than 8,900 caddies have graduated since the program was founded.

The annual awards were presented recently at a banquet held at Medinah Country Club in Medinah, Ill. ?This year?s winners have shown outstanding leadership both in the classroom and on their campuses,? said WGA Chairman John N. Fix. ?We are truly proud of all of them. Their hard work and dedication serves as an inspiration for other students.?


Leader of the Year

David Allen, from Michigan State University, was named the Evans Scholars Leader of the Year. He is from Trenton, caddied at Grosse Ile Golf and Country Club in Grosse Ile and graduated in May with a 3.86 GPA and a degree in political science.

Allen finished with five perfect 4.0 semesters. His Evans Scholars honors during his college tenure include winning the William F. Souder Jr. Four Point Award, the Carleton Blunt Scholarship Award, the National Committee Academic Achievement Award and the Harold F. Ames Leadership Award. He also has won the 2009 James D. Standish Award for being an outstanding Evans Scholar from the state of Michigan. At Michigan State, Allen served as treasurer of the campus Student Health Advisory Council, as well as the Evans Scholars Chapter president, athletic chair and New Scholar class vice president. ?He currently is attending law school at the University of Illinois and serving as that school?s Evans Scholar graduate resident advisor. ?

Scholar of the Year

Tyler Olson, from Indiana University, was named Scholar of the Year. He is from Wabash, caddied at Sycamore Hills Golf Club in Ft. Wayne and graduated in May with a 3.92 GPA and degrees in mathematics and economics. ?Olson finished with five perfect 4.0 semesters. During his college tenure, he has earned Evans Scholars honors including the William F. Souder Jr. Four Point Award, the Carleton Blunt Scholarship Award and the National Committee Academic Achievement Award. While in the Indiana Evans Scholarship House, Olson served as executive vice president and chaired numerous House committees, including philanthropy. He was named the 2006 Indiana New Scholar of the Year. Olson has accepted a finance position with Group One Trading in Chicago.

James E. Moore Scholarship Trophy

The Minnesota Evans Scholars took home the coveted James E. Moore Scholarship Trophy ? awarded annually to the Evans Scholar chapter with the highest cumulative GPA – for the third straight year, with an impressive 3.39 GPA. The inter-chapter scholarship competition was established in 1962 by the Evans Scholars National Committee.

Each one of the 14 Scholarship Chapters ? as well as the program?s five additional universities – earned above a cumulative 3.0 GPA. They each received a plaque honoring their academic achievement. For more information on the Evans Scholars Program, visit