Oakland Hills Country Club Selected to Host U.S. Women’s Open Championships in 2031, 2042

  Oakland Hills Country Club, continuing its tradition as a host of golf’s major championships, has been selected to host the 2031 and 2042 U.S. Women’s Open Championships.

  It was announced last week by the USGA in a press release that revealed a first-ever long-term presenting rights partnership with ProMedica that will elevate the purse for the Women’s Open to $10 million and increase charitable donations.

    ProMedica, a mission-based, not-for-profit integrated health and well-being organization that serves communities in 28 states, is the newest partner in the USGA’s global program, which is designed to extend the reach of the Association’s mission to advance golf. In addition to the U.S. Women’s Open presenting sponsorship, ProMedica will be the official health and well-being partner of the USGA.

  Beginning with the 2022 U.S. Women’s Open June 2-5 at Pine Needles Lodge & Golf Club in Southern Pines, N.C., the purse will increase from $5.5 million to $10 million and become the highest in women’s golf and among the leaders in all of women’s sports. The USGA also announced a commitment to raise the Women’s Open purse to $11 million and then $12 million over the next five years.

  The USGA today also named five additional U.S. Women’s Open host sites including Oakland Hills. The others are The Riviera Country Club in Pacific Palisades, Calif. (2026); Inverness Club in Toledo, Ohio (2027); Pinehurst Resort & Country Club in Village of Pinehurst, N.C. (2029); Interlachen Country Club in Edina, Minn. (2030).

  In 2031 Oakland Hills, which has hosted 11 USGA championships and 16 golf championships also classified as major championships in their era, will be hosting its first U.S. Women’s Open.

  It will become the fifth club to have hosted a U.S. Open, U.S. Women’s Open, U.S. Amateur and U.S. Women’s Amateur, with Pebble Beach set to do so in 2023. The South Course, which has hosted six U.S. Opens, was designed by Donald Ross and opened in 1918. It was renovated by Robert Trent Jones (1950), Rees Jones (2006) and last year by Gil Hanse.

  “Oakland Hills is proud and honored to say we’ll be the site of the 2031 and 2042 U.S. Women’s Open Championships,” Rick Palmer, the current Oakland Hills CC president said. “We have added to our heritage and our long-standing relationship with the USGA with this great news. We are also pleased it has come so soon after we re-opened our restored and iconic South Course. It’s a momentous time for Oakland Hills.”

  Palmer said major golf championships have been in the club’s lineage practically since it first opened its doors.

  “Our restoration of the South Course corresponds directly with our desire to continue to enhance our history with high-level golf at the regional, national and international levels,” he said. “We are happy to give back to golf and give back to Metro Detroit through these pursuits.”

  Mike Whan, USGA CEO and the former commissioner of the LPGA, said in the press release that the USGA prides itself on conducting championships that not only provide an incredible stage for the athletes, but also give younger players something to dream about.

  “For more than 75 years, the U.S. Women’s Open has been the one that every little girl, in every country around the world, has dreamed of winning,” he said. “This partnership with ProMedica allows us to substantially grow the championship in every way, from its purpose to its purse, to the places that host the event. While I’m incredibly proud of what we are announcing today, I know this is just the beginning, as together with ProMedica, we’ll push to change the game and what it means to young women worldwide in order to reach new heights every year.”

 The USGA has brought its array of national championships to Michigan 33 times, including the most recent U.S. Senior Amateur Championship played at Country Club of Detroit last summer.

 Following is a list of the major golf competitions previously hosted by Oakland Hills, including the champions:

Western Open, Mike Brady, 1922

U.S. Open, Cyril Walker, 1924

U.S. Women’s Amateur, Glenna Collett, 1929

U.S. Open, Ralph Guldahl, 1937

U.S. Open, Ben Hogan, 1951

U.S. Open, Gene Littler, 1961

PGA, Gary Player, 1972

PGA, David Graham, 1979

U.S. Senior Open, Arnold Palmer, 1981

U.S. Open, Andy North, 1985

U.S. Senior Open, Jack Nicklaus, 1991

U.S. Open, Steve Jones, 1996

U.S. Amateur, Ricky Barnes, 2002

Ryder Cup, Europe, 2004

PGA, Padraig Harrington, 2008

U.S. Amateur, Curtis Luck, 2016


Note: The USGA and Oakland Hills Country Club contributed to this report.

[email protected]