Lakes of Taylor Hosting 6th Michigan Senior Net Amateur Championship

TAYLOR – The late Arthur Hills believed in matching his golf course designs to the audience that would play it.

  The popularity of the Lakes of Taylor Golf Club course indicates he built a great match, and the championship course owned and operated by the City of Taylor promises to be a great fit for the 6th Michigan Senior Net Amateur Championship presented by Michigan Golf Live on Monday and Tuesday, Aug. 1-2.

  The tournament features senior male golfers over age 55 with GAM/USGA handicap indexes lower than 20.4. This year’s field of 78 golfers will play for the title over two days and 36 holes of net stroke play competition.

  The Lakes of Taylor course opened in 1995 and spans 7,028 yards to 5,119 yards with five tee positions. It opens with a stadium style hole and closes with an expansive No. 18 hole with water hugging the left side. The course offers a rolling variety of holes and looks in parkland, meadow and links styles set off by native grasses.

  Hills gave players plenty of room to maneuver the ball and a variety of different green settings as targets as well. The par 5 No. 8 hole that plays to 531 yards is the No. 1 handicap hole and stands up to its reputation along one of the small lakes or ponds that make the course especially interesting. The par 3 No. 17 hole can be played as long as 201 yards and demands accuracy over water and into the side of a hill.

  The facility also houses the Lakehouse Bar and Grille for post or pre-round meals.

  George Sutherland is the director of golf and Robert Makowski is the superintendent. Learn more at

  The Senior Net Amateur is among five Net championships presented as part of the GAM’s continuing effort to provide competition for members of all playing ability levels on some of the state’s top golf courses.

  Last year, Scott Pearce of Bloomfield Hills won at Atlas Valley Golf Club as a late entry via the waiting list. He is returning to defend.

  Also back is 2020 winner Michael Lam of Northville, 2018 winner Greg McComas of Beverly Hills and 2017 winner Robert Kenworthy of Clio.