Lakelands Golf & Country Club Hosting 21st Michigan Net Amateur Championship

BRIGHTON – Historic Lakelands Golf & Country Club is celebrating its centennial season of golf on the shores of Winans Lake, and the 21st Michigan Net Amateur Championship presented by Michigan Golf Live is getting in on the fun.

  A field of 78 male golfers with Handicap Indexes of 20.4 or better square off over 36 holes of net stroke play Monday and Tuesday to determine a state net champion.

   The 18-hole Lakelands course has stood the test of time since an original nine-hole course was built in 1922, and the second nine was added in 1927.

  It is traditional in style with tree-lined fairways, a picturesque par 3 No. 8 hole, rolling fairways and smaller greens. It is kept in outstanding shape and has been a many-time host of GAM tournaments over the years.

  The private member-owned club has an original clubhouse across Club House Drive from its current location. The current clubhouse is the third version in the history of the club, half of which was rebuilt after a devastating fire in 2003.

  History abounds at Lakelands. The club’s driving range stands on what was a landing strip for aircraft through both World Wars, specifically designed as such by William Stout, a noted aviation engineer.

  Eric Martin is the golf professional and Alex Lincoln is the superintendent. Learn more at

  Last year, Garden City’s Dustin Ross, a Spirit Airlines pilot, shot the second-best round of golf in his life, a 73 gross for a final-round net 66 to win at Washtenaw Golf Club. He had finished runner-up twice previously in the championship, and second once in the GAM Net Match Play Championship, too.

  Ross is returning to defend and several other past champions are in the field including 2020 winner Brad Christians of Fountain, 2018 winner Matt Magnotte of Clinton Township, 2014 winner Steve Szymanski of Rochester Hills, 2013 winner Jack Germain of Punta Gorda, 2009 winner Mike Kidder of Ann Arbor, 2008 and 2007 winner Michael Brown of Battle Creek and 2002 winner Jack McHale of Macomb.