Dick Topp to be honored by Muskegon Area Sports Hall of Fame



Dick Topp to be honored by Muskegon Area
Sports Hall of Fame


   Dick Topp, a longtime area
golf promoter, will be honored by the Muskegon Area Sports Hall of Fame as the
2015 recipient of the organization’s Distinguished Service Award.

   Topp, who was the driving
force behind bringing the prestigious Michigan Amateur and other state and USGA
events to Muskegon Country Club, has also been a huge booster and promoter of
junior golf throughout his life.

   “I don’t think there’s
anything like watching youngsters carrying their bags down the fairway. I
haven’t seen many kids go wrong on the golf course,” said Topp, 73. “Junior
golf has been in my heart for a long time. The kids playing today are fantastic
youngsters. A tremendous group of kids have come out of the Muskegon area for
golf and have done well.”

   Topp, a past president of
the Golf Association of Michigan, will be inducted with the rest of the Hall of
Fame class on June 6 in a banquet at his beloved Muskegon Country Club. Other
inductees will be Cathy (Fitzpatrick) Nowak, Mike Holmes and the Muskegon
Heights basketball teams of 1978 and 1979. A male and female student-athlete of
the year will be announced in May.

   Topp, a Muskegon resident
since 1965 and the retired finance director at Webb Chemical, served as GAM
president in 2013 and has served on the state’s golf governing board since
2001. He was instrumental in bringing the Michigan Amateur to MCC in 2005 and
2013. Topp and his wife, Mary, have two children, Trish and Rick, and five

   The Distinguished Service
Award is presented annually by the MASHF to an individual who has made a
tremendous contribution to the betterment of sports in the Muskegon area, but
not as an athlete. Topp is the 31st individual to receive the local hall’s
service award.


   For more information, visit
the Hall’s web site at or call
MASHF board member Tom Kendra at (231) 766-1954.




1991: Mart Tardani

1992: Les David

1993: Ray Cioe

1994: Nelson Volz

1995: Charles Marsh

1996: Lyle Moran

1997: John E. “Jake” Outwin

1998: Elsa Lowe

1999: James Dodson

2000: John “Smitty” Vanderplow

2001: Michael Knight

2002: Bill Tilton

2003: Leo Campbell

2004: Football team doctors Louis
Beechnau, Tim Beechnau, Ed Fugate, Yousif Hamati, Ned Krohn, Robert Pierce,
Larry Poel, Charles Teifer

2005: Ralph Burr

2006: Jerry Porter

2007: Mark Jastrzembski

2008: Jack Crowell

2009: Earl O’Brien

2010: Barney Sutherland

2011: Jim “Red” Heeres

2012: Pete Gawkowski

2013: Jim Moyes

2014: Cyndi Blair