MPSGA’s Team Michigan wins inaugural Challenge Cup

     The Michigan Publinx Seniors Golf Association’s 32-man “Team Michigan” defeated the Indiana State Seniors Golf Association’s contingent 40-24 in the inaugural 2016 Challenge Cup competition between the two outstanding Midwest senior golf organizations. 

The 36-hole competition featuring foursome, four-ball and singles matches was held on September 19/20 at the challenging Glendarin Hills GC in Angola, Indiana.  The theme was “fun & fair” competition for seniors with every attempt made by both groups to match players equally.

     Team Michigan was led by Matt Wiley, Billy Green, Chuck Hirchert, Terry Kelley, Tom Pilon and Brian Kuehn — who each finished 3-0.

     Additional outstanding performances were recorded by Claud Johnston, Marty Stadtmiller, Dave Ruelle and Jim Mlynarczyk who were undefeated with a 2-0-1 records.

     Other MPSGA Team Michigan members were Captain – Jim Briegel as well as Jim Aaron, Dennis Abdoo, Tom Ahern, Thom Allen, Larry Brady, Larry Dupke, Larry Forbes, Greg Frontier, Jack Galsterer, Harry Hicks, Bruce Jellison, Dave McTear, Mark Miller, Pete Owens, John Pratt, Kevin Schaum, Barry Silverstein, Dan Sutherland, Mike Terry, Ron Williams and Everett Winters.

     The 2016 host Indiana team members included Captain – Rick Roberts; ISSGA Secretary-Treasurer – John Peer; ISSGA President – Larry Simmons; Former USGA Director of Competitions & ISSGA Director – Tom Meeks: ISSGA Director- Jim Young; ISSGA Vice President- Mike Shotts: ISSGA Director – Dave Cremeans and past Indiana state winner – Jim Rowen.  

      The 2017 competition will be hosted by the MPSGA.