Meadowbrook Country Club Hosting GAM Senior/Mid-Am Team Finals

   NORTHVILLE – Meadowbrook Country Club is hosting the finals of the 13th GAM Senior/Mid-Am Team Championship.

  Six teams that won or finished second in the three first-day sectional competitions hosted earlier in the season by Dearborn Country Club, Flint Golf Club and Travis Pointe Country Club, make up the field for Tuesday’s finals. It’s the second consecutive year that Meadowbrook has hosted the finals.

   A field of 116 teams, or 232 of Michigan’s top golfers, competed in the opening segment of the popular championship that features a Senior golfer (55-and-over) teamed up with a Mid-Amateur golfer (23-and-over). The teams played four-ball, also known as best-ball, in a morning round, and foursomes, also known as alternate shot, in the afternoon rounds.

  On Tuesday for the finals the six teams will play four-ball for nine holes and foursomes for nine holes.

  Meadowbrook was renovated in recent years and The American Society of Golf Course Architects selected it as one of the 2017 Design Excellence Recognition Program honorees.

  The club has a long history with the GAM having hosted the GAM Championship four times as well as several other GAM tournaments over the years. Many of those tournaments were on the original Willie Park-designed course that was renovated by Arizona-based architect Andy Staples of Staples Golf Design. The original course, which also had design work performed on it by Donald Ross, also hosted the 1955 PGA Championship and four Motor City Opens.

  Meadowbrook Country Club embarked on the major renovation of its historic course in 2015 to mark the 2016 milestone occasion of its 100th anniversary.

  Mark Stevens is the head golf professional at Meadowbrook, and Jared Milner is the golf course superintendent. Learn more at

  The six teams playing Tuesday include:

  • Dearborn winners Bill Zylstra of Dearborn Heights and Chet VandenBerg of Portage, as well as the runner-up team of Tom and Nikolas Senkowski of Rochester.
  • Flint winners Gary Rymiszewski of Oxford and Frank Comito of Macomb, and runners-up, Greg Davies of West Bloomfield and Ian Harris of Bloomfield Hills.
  • Travis Pointe winners David LeVan of Bloomfield Hills and JJ Modell of Ann Arbor, and the runner-up team of Kevin Nelson and Willard Richart of Saline.