Historic Harbor Point Hosting 27th GAM Women’s Senior Championship

Written By: Greg Johnson

HARBOR SPRINGS – The 27th GAM Women’s Senior Championship is being presented Monday and Tuesday by Rocket Tour at historic Harbor Point Golf Club where it has been determined a roughed-out course was in play at the location as early as 1896.

That would make Harbor Point, with its timeless views of Lake Michigan, one of the oldest golf courses in the state and in the U.S. for that matter.

The field of GAM member women golfers ages 50-plus will play 36 holes over two days to determine an overall champion as well as winners in other flights. The overall champion will have her name added to the Sara Wold Trophy.

In 1899 Alexander F. Stevenson of Chicago and others formed a stock company to purchase the land and develop the course. The 18-hole course was designed by David Foulis, who was from a famous St. Andrews family of golfers. In 1941, the course was taken over by the Harbor Point Association.

Harbor Point is a semi-private facility offering some public play from opening in early May through part of June and from Sept. 5 to closing in October. It has 18 holes with a maximum yardage of about 5,900 yards and is known for its classic well-maintained greens and the views of Lake Michigan.

Shaun Bezilla, the PGA golf professional, and Superintendent and assistant general manager Clayton Novak lead the golf staff. Find more information on Harbor Point at

Last year at Petoskey-Bay View Country Club, Stacy Slobodnik-Stoll of Haslett, the winningest golfer in Golf Association of Michigan history with 17 individual titles, won the GAM Women’s Senior on her first attempt after turning age 50 and joining the GAM senior ranks.

The Michigan State University women’s golf coach, Slobodnik-Stoll, is returning to defend her title. Other past champions in the field include five-time champion Joan Garety of Ada, three-time winner Susan Campbell of Kalamazoo, two-time winner Barb Schmid of Grand Rapids, two-time winner Julie Massa of Pentwater, two-time winner Donna Benford of Linden and two-time winner Maureen Whitehead of Charlevoix.

Event Details


View Photo Gallery >>